Another reason not to leave the house: YogaGlo

Upward-facing cat.

Lately, I’ve been counting days that I don’t have to head into an office or otherwise leave the house as little triumphs. The one regular disruption has been to get to yoga, Pilates, or some other physical activity. But then, I discovered YogaGlo.

YogaGlo is an online yoga school offering instruction in styles ranging from Anusura to Yin. Unlike other online yoga stuff I’ve tried, the videos are of real classes taught by thoughtful, organized, and motivating teachers. My personal favorites so far are Elena Brower (who, for better or worse, will forever be known as Gwyneth Paltrow’s personal guru) and Jason Crandell (Rodney Yee’s protege whose classes I’ve been lucky to attend in real life).

I know that doing yoga under the watchful eye of an experienced teacher is still the only way I’ll really improve (and stay clear of injury). I miss the immediate benefits of hands-on adjustments. And, I definitely fall more easily into a calm, focused state when I’m surrounded by other people breathing heavily. But some days, it feels amazing to do a handstand in the middle of my living room.

One thought on “Another reason not to leave the house: YogaGlo

Talk to me

